About the Contributors

Duane Boyce received his academic training in psychology, philosophy, and the clinical treatment of families. He received a PhD from Brigham Young University and conducted his postdoctoral study in developmental psychology at Harvard University. He is the coauthor of three books and is part-owner of a worldwide management consulting/training and educational firm headquartered in Salt Lake City.

Robert H. Briggs received a BA in political science from Brigham Young University in 1974 and a JD from Pepperdine University School of Law in 1977. He has practiced law in southern California for thirty years. His articles and book reviews have been published in Western Legal History, the Journal of Mormon History, Sunstone, the Utah Historical Quarterly, and the FARMS Review. He received the 2006 Dale L. Morgan Award for his article in the Utah Historical Quarterly analyzing participant confessions concerning the Mountain Meadows Massacre.

Brant A. Gardner received an MS in anthropology from the State University of New York, Albany, specializing in Mesoamerican ethno­history. Although earning a living as a sales consultant for a software firm, he has kept a finger in his academic first love, publishing articles on Nahuatl mythology and kinship. He is the author of Second Witness: An Analytical and Contextual Commentary on the Book of Mormon, published by Greg Kofford Books in 2007.

William P. MacKinnon is an independent historian and management consultant living in Santa Barbara, California. Since 1963 his work has appeared in more than thirty-five journals. The first part of his two-volume documentary history of the Utah War, At Sword’s Point, was published in 2008. In 2007 he received the Thomas L. Kane Award from the Mormon History Association. An alumnus of Yale and Harvard universities, he is a former vice president of General Motors, a veteran of the U.S. Air Force, and past chairman of the board of Children’s Hospital of Michigan.

Louis Midgley, who earned his PhD at Brown University, is a professor emeritus of political science at Brigham Young University.

George L. Mitton, after completing graduate studies at Utah State University and Columbia University, spent his career in education and public administration, much of it with the government of the state of Oregon.

Daniel C. Peterson earned a PhD in Near Eastern languages and cultures from the University of California at Los Angeles. He is a professor of Islamic studies and Arabic at Brigham Young University, where he also directs the Middle Eastern Texts Initiative (see meti.byu.edu).

Shirley S. Ricks, PhD, is senior production editor at the Neal A. Maxwell Institute for Religious Scholarship. She has been closely involved in the source checking, editing, and production of the various volumes in the Collected Works of Hugh Nibley series since the late 1980s. She also served as the production editor for the FARMS Review for the first nineteen years of its existence.

Gregory L. Smith received undergraduate training in human physiology and is a medical doctor who practices rural family medicine in Alberta, Canada. As a clinical instructor, he has been repeatedly honored by medical students and residents. His article on Latter-day Saint plural marriage (published online by the Foundation for Apologetic Information and Research) was recently requested for a collection of essays exploring polygamy.

John A. Tvedtnes holds MA degrees from the University of Utah in linguistics and Middle East studies (Hebrew). He recently retired from Brigham Young University’s Neal A. Maxwell Institute for Religious Scholarship, where he was a senior resident scholar. His publications comprise ten books and about 250 articles, including several previous articles on baptism for the dead.

Robert B. White is a practicing barrister, with Queen’s Counsel designation, and a senior partner in the litigation group of Davis LLP, an international law firm headquartered in Canada. The author of four books published by Canada Law Book, he was a sessional lecturer in law at the University of Alberta Law School (1972–1990).